Review: Smart Bottoms Dream Diaper

Today I am going to review the Smart Bottoms Dream diaper; the opinions within are all my own.

Ahhh the excitement of a new diaper! Who doesn’t love fluff mail? I had heard good things about the Smartbottoms Dream Diaper from other moms, so I am excited to finally have it in my stash and see what all the rave is about. 

Smart Bottoms Dream Diaper – Front vs. Back
First off, look at that Savannah print! I combines two of my favorite things: animal prints + bursts of colors. I love it!

The Smart Bottoms Dream Diaper is an all-in-one diaper with a snap in insert and extra pocket opening. This allows for easy use and easy laundry – the best of both worlds. This diaper has a long 100% cotton based insert sewn into the back that just flip over and that’s it – the diaper is ready to go. AIO diapers make for easy use, which is perfect for babysitters, grandparents, and really anyone unfamiliar or inexperienced with modern cloth diapers.

Features 

  1. Outer PUL layer
  2. Inner 55% cotton and 45% hemp layer 
  3. Insert snapped in the back
  4. Tummy panel to prevent wicking/leaking
  5. Pocket to add absorbency 

Smart Bottoms Dream Diaper – Features Overview

Rise Settings

One thing I love about Smart Bottoms diapers is that they have 4 rise settings. Yes, 4! Most diapers I come across only have 3 rises, so having extra rise level means a better fit and that’s definitely a big plus in my book. 

Smart Bottoms Dream Diaper – Rise Comparisons

Ease of Use: This diaper is very easy to use. There’s no prepping or stuffing of inserts which makes it both simple to use and prepare. Just snap in the insert and the diaper is ready to go. The only problem I came across is the front pocket opening and attached tag; it’s very flimsy and the tag keeps folding outwards. Overall this diaper is easy to use, but the design of the pocket opening takes away from its overall use. 4/5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Fit: I really like the 4 rises on this diaper as it allows for a better fit, which in turn means fewer leaks. Putting the diaper on can be a hassle when it comes to folding down the front pocket opening because it unfortunately doesn’t lay down nice and flat. However, once this is tucked in and the diaper is snapped closed the diaper is very nice and trim, especially around the legs which is a plus. 4/5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Absorbency: The absorbency of this diaper is above average, but I was hoping for more. It’s nice that you can add additional absorbency in the front pocket, but the diaper does not come with an extra insert for this. I found this diaper good for naps and car rides. When I added an additional insert in the pocket I was able to make the diaper last approximately 6-8 hours overnight, but my daughter usually sleeps 10-11 hours so I need to change her in the middle of the night when we use this diaper. However, I still think this is a good nighttime contender and depending on whether or not your child is a heavy wetter it might be a good night option for you. 4/5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Look and Feel: I really like the trim look of this diaper along with the print and color of the snaps. Overall, I find the look of Smart Bottoms diapers very appealing and this is definitely a plus for me. 4/5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Value: This diaper cost $31, which makes more expensive than most other diapers on the market (not including WAHM and custom made diapers). I really like how the look of this diaper and how trim it is, but I was expecting a better pocket opening along with more absorbency for this price as this is the main thing I look for in a diaper. 3/5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️

Improvements I would make: I really like that a pocket was added to this diaper, but I would change the design and add elastics to either the pocket opening or the flap that goes over in an effort to make it less flimsy and more user friendly.

Smart Bottoms Dream Diaper – Close up of pocket opening

Overall Value: At this price I would have expected better absorbency, but it’s nice that I can add an additional insert to the pocket. The only thing I would change is the actual design of the pocket opening. Overall, I really like how trim this diaper is, and I like the prints available for Smart Bottoms diapers. 4/5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I hope this review was helpful for you. It really helped me when I initially started cloth diapering to read all the reviews of others to get a better idea of the different types of diapers available and their features. Hopefully this review can help do the same for other parents! 

Please let me know if you have any questions or comments. I love hearing feedback from others!

XOXO

12 thoughts on “Review: Smart Bottoms Dream Diaper

    1. Yes, the absorbency with natural fibers will increase with multiple uses 🙂 Some diapers can be used pretty much right away after one wash and some others can take 10-12 washes for full absorbency.

      Like

  1. We have used cloth diapers for both our boys. For us its about the overall cost and the effect on the enviroment. It is alot easier then what alot of people use. We still use disposables for when we are away, or when we are traveling.

    At first glance I really love the look of these ones.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks k you for sharing and giving us the realness about your ikea and dislikes so we could make better decisions for ourselves on whether or not to take the plunge and buy this particular re usable diaper. I have never used reusable diapers for my babies, but really thinking about it for our third. We are currently working on baby #3

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love that we use cloth for our daughter! It’s definitely something to give a chance and try out for your next baby. It’s a very cost efficient and environmentally friendly choice if that’s something you’re looking for 🙂

      Like

  3. We’re still in the diapers phase with my son, and we use the disposables because we weren’t very educated about cloth diapering. Between reviews like yours and chats with family members who used cloth diapers, I’m beginning to wonder if we might want to use cloth diapers for a second child. At this point, I’m not sure I’d want to switch with our first, but it’s something to consider for a second child!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I definitely hope you give cloth a chance with your second baby! It’s not difficult at all once you get the hang of it. I know several moms who didn’t switch to cloth until their baby was at least 1 year old, it can still be worth the investment if you aren’t potty training soon. Plus, you can save those diapers for the next baby too.

      Like

  4. These are so cute, and this is very informative. I’ve never used cloth diapers, but this makes me think about it more should there be a next go round 😉 It’s nice that it has four rises, as my second child has fluffy thighs, so it’s difficult to find diapers that fit well arough his legs.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

