Review: Grovia O.N.E. Diaper

Today I am going to review the Grovia O.N.E. diaper; the opinions within are all my own.

We have been battling nighttime leaks lately so I wanted to try a new diaper to hopefully solve this issue. Queue the Grovia O.N.E. diaper.  This diaper is advertised as “a true all-in-one diaper with Outlast Closure” made to last and with no need for boosters. Well, we are ready to put that to the test! 

Grovia O.N.E. – Front vs. Back

The worst part of wanting to try out a new diaper? Waiting for it to get prepped to reach full absorbency. According to the Grovia website this diaper should be washed on hot 5-6 times to prep, but could take up to 10 washes to be fully absorbent. It’s true what they say – patience is a virtue. I like to wash my diapers a few times and then use them during the day to ensure full absorbency before using them at night.

Grovia O.N.E. – Open Diaper Front vs. Back

So far I like the overall features of this diaper, especially how super soft it is. I feel good about putting her in this diaper specifically due to its softness since she will have it against her skin for an extended period of time while sleeping, whether during nap time or overnight. She is very sensitive to moisture and needs a diaper that retains the wetness and wicks it away from her skin. Most of the time we use liners for this specific reason. 

Features

  • Outer PUL layer
  • Inner layer of 100% cotton
  • Tummy panel to prevent wicking
  • Snap-in insert

Grovia O.N.E. – Features

Special Feature – Outlast Closure

This diaper includes two closure systems, Velcro and snaps, and you can even buy replacement kits if/when the Velcro wears out. One of my main apprehension about hook and loop diapers is how fast wear and tear happens, but that wouldn’t be a problem with this diaper since a replacement is easy to obtain. We normally just use the snaps because it’s easier and then I don’t have to remember to take the Velcro strip off since it’s not supposed to go in the laundry. However, I do think having the option of Velcro is nice for smaller babies to help get a better fit. 

Grovia O.N.E. – Snaps vs. Hook and Loop Closures
 

Another Special Feature – Double Inserts

  1. Large channeled soaker, which snaps into the diaper for daily use.
  2. Small soaker, which can either be used as a newborn insert by itself or get snapped onto the back of the channeled soaker for nighttime use.
Grovia O.N.E. – Channeled Soakers

Rise Settings:

This diaper has three rise settings and is advertised as fitting 10-35lbs. It’s a little too big to be used as a newborn diaper. My daughter is currently around 22lbs and on the second rise so she still has room to grow. One of the problems I found with this diaper is that the leg openings are too big and loose. I was expecting better and tighter elastics for this price.

Grovia O.N.E. – Comparison of Rise Settings

Ease of Use: This diaper is very easy to use. There’s no stuffing or folding of inserts which makes it both simple to use and prepare. It does take around 10 washes to get fully absorbent, but you can use it during the day time until it’s fully prepped for nighttime use. Just snap in the insert and the diaper is ready to go.  4/5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Fit: The single row of waist snaps are easy to use and the diaper comes with a velcro strip so it is easy to get a good fit around the waist. Unfortunately, the elastics in the leg openings are rather loose, which results in a poor fit around the legs. This was even a problem with my chunky 22lbs baby, so this would definitely have been a big issue if we had been using this diaper when she was smaller. Also, it seems that this diaper is smaller than some of our other brands so I worry that we won’t be able to use for as long as we can with certain other diapers. Right now we are on the second rise and there isn’t any room to spare. 3/5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️

Absorbency: The absorbency is definitely above average and that is the biggest plus for this diaper. We started using it overnight once the diaper was fully prepped and it lasts much longer than many other diapers we have tried. I also found this diaper good for naps or longer car rides since these are times where you want to make sure your baby is comfortable and dry as you either can’t or wouldn’t  want to change the diaper right away. This diaper last us approximately 8-9 hours overnight when using both inserts so I’m happy with this absorbency. My daughter usually sleeps around 10-11 hours at night so this diaper doesn’t last us the entire night, but usually I let her sleep a few hours, then change her and let her fall right back asleep and that will last us until morning time. 4/5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Look and Feel: The two soaker inserts are very nice and soft to the touch, definitely a plus, but these also add to making this quite a fluffy diaper. This is definitely not a trim diaper if that’s what you a looking for, but I am perfectly happy with a big fluff bum so it doesn’t bother me. However, I wish the Grovia O.N.E. diaper came in more prints since this is one of the great things about using cloth. 3/5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️

Value: The cost of this diaper is somewhat in the middle at $22.95 and not too expensive if you are just looking to buy a couple for longer naps or nighttime use. 3/5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️

Improvements I would make: The main thing I would change is the elastics in the leg openings to ensure a better fit and prevent leaking. I think it would also be nice to have more prints for this diaper, but that’s just because I like being colorful and coordinating her diaper with her outfit.

Overall Value: I like the absorbency and softness of this diaper. However, I do not like the wide leg openings because it makes leaking/wicking more prone to happen and doesn’t allow for a good fit around the legs. Plus, that also makes me worry that a poopsposion wouldn’t be safely contained. I mostly like that we are able to use this diaper overnight when using both inserts. This is a big plus for us and that’s why I am rating this diaper as a good nighttime contender and as an above average diaper overall. 4/5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

5 thoughts on “Review: Grovia O.N.E. Diaper

  1. I didn’t use cloth diapers but definitely will think about it in the future. I love that this one has two different closures – snaps and Velcro. My second child has thick thighs, so I wonder if this one would be good for him since you said the leg elastics are large. Could be a great option for bigger baby’s!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We have always used Cloth diapers they are so great. Its always a question though about which ones are best. So many differences in what works and what doesnt, what the best cost is etc.

    I love finding reviews like this one that can help me to make my decisions and get the best value for money

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

