Review: Smart Bottoms 3.1 AIO Diaper

Today I am going to review the Smart Bottoms 3.1 AIO diaper; the opinions within are all my own.

I have been thinking trying out this diaper for a while now so I had to jump on the opportunity when I saw this awesome tie dye print. Perfect for summer!

Smart Bottoms 3.1 – Front vs. Back

The Smart Bottoms 3.1 diaper is an all-in-one diaper, which means no snapping, folding, or stuffing; it doesn’t get any easier than that! This diaper has a long 100% cotton based insert sewn into the back that just flip over and that’s it – the diaper is ready to go. AIO diapers make for easy use, which is perfect for babysitters or grandparents, or as in our case, when dad doesn’t like to stuff diapers. 

Smart Bottoms 3.1 – Open Diaper Front vs. Back

Features

  1. Outer PUL layer
  2. Inner 100% cotton layer 
  3. Insert sewn in the back
  4. Tummy panel to prevent wicking/leaking
Smart Bottoms 3.1 – Features

Rise Settings

One thing I love about Smart Bottoms diapers is that they have 4 rise settings. Yes, 4! Most diapers I come across only have 3 rises, so having extra rise level means a better fit and that’s definitely a big plus in my book. 

Smart Bottoms 3.1 – Rise Comparisons

Ease of use: This diaper is definitely easy to use. There’s no snapping or stuffing of inserts which makes it very simple to use and prepare. It does require several washes to prep the natural fibers, which according to the Smart Bottoms website is 6-8 times or more. 4/5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Fit: It was easy to get a great fit and I’m speaking from experience when I say it can contain even the most liquids poopsposions. I really like the 4 rises on this diaper as it allows for a better fit, which in turn means fewer leaks. I also thought the elastics was really good around the legs and waist. 5/5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Absorbency: The absorbency of this diaper is about average. It’s good for naps or car rides, but it definitely did not work for nighttime for us as it was simply not absorbent enough. 3/5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️

Look and Feel: I really like the trim look of this diaper. Plus, Smart Bottoms has a lot of nice colorful prints so it’s easy to find something that fits exactly what you’re looking for. 4/5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Value: The cost of this diaper is one of the main drawbacks at $29. I really like how trim this diaper is, but I was expecting more absorbency as this is the main thing I look for in a diaper. No point in looking nice in a cute print of the diaper isn’t going to be absorbent enough or leak. 3/5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️


Improvements I would make: The insert is sewn into the back of the diaper rather than being attached by snaps, which means you can’t substitute it with a more absorbent nighttime insert instead. It would be nice it it had a pocket or snaps to add more absorbency, but I know this is something that has been addressed in the Smart Bottoms Dream diaper. 

Overall Value: I like this diaper because it’s trim, easy to use, and comes in cute prints. However, at this price I would expect it to be more absorbent. 3/5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️

I hope you found this review helpful. I know when I first started on my cloth diapering journey it was helpful for me to read reviews from real moms to help guide me in the right direction. Plus, in the beginning it really helped me to learn what different types of cloth diapers exist on the market and what features are available through each brand. I hope my review is able to do the same for other parents. 

XOXO

Leave a Reply

